ETPN presented its new executive board during the NME21 virtual event

During the Nanomed Europe 21 virtual event which took place on september 2021, ETPN presented its new executive board.
Raymond Schiffelers, Professor of Nanomedicine at UMC Utrecht, has been elected as new chairman during the General Assembly 2021. He will lead the platform with his team in full continuity with the leadership of Ruth Schmid (SINTEF, RESTORE partner), former chair for the 2019-2021 period. He will be assisted by two vice-chairpeople: Kathleen Spring (Managing Director at Bioanalytik Münster) and Steven Conlan (Chair of the Board of Trustees (BSNM) and Head of Enterprise and Innovation at University of Swansea / British society of Nanomedicine), and indeed the rest of team with a mix of reelected people and newcomers.

Meriem Lamghari (i3S/INEB – Universitity of Porto), coordinator of the RESTORE project, will lead the ETPN working group on Regenerative Medicine. This ETPN WG acts to promote and facilitate the applications of nano-enabled regenerative medicines. Nanotechnologies and nanomaterials offer a wide ranges of new possibilities to optimize regenerative medicine, which is the process of replacing, engineering or regenerating human cells, tissues or organs to restore or establish normal function. Nanoparticles and nanofibers may notably act as carriers, targeting elements and/or scaffolds in combination with biomaterials, to trigger better and faster replacement of damaged tissues and organs by stimulating the body’s own repair mechanisms.